Truman Nominees 2020-21

If you need access to the Truman quizzes, use this link to fill out the Google form and Ms. Murphy will add you to the Learning Commons course in Canvas. Click on the title to put the book on hold in Destiny. Click on the author's name to reach their website.  
City of GhostsCity of Ghosts
by  Victoria Schwab

Ever since her near-fatal drowning, Cassidy has been able to pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead and see ghosts, not that she wants to, and she was really looking forward to a ghost-free summer at the beach; however her parents are going to start filming a TV series about the world's most haunted places, starting with Edinburgh with its graveyards, castles, and restless phantoms--and Cass and her personal ghost companion, Jacob, are about to find out that a city of old ghosts can be a very dangerous place indeed.

 Deep Water
Deep Water
by Watt Key

When a dive off the coast of Alabama goes horribly wrong, twelve-year-old Julie and one of her father's scuba clients struggle to survive after reaching an abandoned oil rig.



 Fire & Heist
Fire & Heist
bySarah Beth Durst

As Sky Hawkins, a were-dragon, faces her first heist she discovers secrets about her missing mother, the true reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and the valuable jewel that could restore her family's wealth and rank.


 Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes · OverDrive: eBooks, audiobooks and  videos for libraries
Ghost Boys
byJewell Parker Rhodes

After seventh-grader Jerome is shot by a white police officer, he observes the aftermath of his death and meets the ghosts of other fallen black boys including historical figure Emmett Till.



ImpostersImpostors
by Scott Westerfeld

In a world that is rapidly descending into chaos, Frey and Rafi are twin sisters, but few people know of Frey's existence, because she has been raised to be her sister's body double and lethal bodyguard, while Rafi has been raised to further the family's political power--but when their father sends Frey in her sister's place as collateral in a tricky deal, Col, the son of a rival leader, gets close enough to begin to suspect something, and Frey must decide whether to deal with him violently or finally assume her own identity.

 Lifeboat 12
Lifeboat 12
by Susan Hood

In 1940, a group of British children, their escorts, and some sailors struggle to survive in a lifeboat when the ship taking them to safety in Canada is torpedoed. Includes historical notes.  Includes bibliographical references. Based on a true story. 


 MascotMascot
byAntony John

Noah Savino has been stuck in a wheelchair for months. He hates the way people treat him like he's helpless now. He's sick of going to physical therapy, where he isn't making any progress. He's tired of not having control over his own body. And he misses playing baseball--but not as much as he misses his dad, who died in the car accident that paralyzed Noah. Noah is scared he'll never feel like his old self again. He doesn't want people to think of him as different for the rest of his life. With the help of family and friends, he'll have to throw off the mask he's been hiding behind and face the fears that have kept him on the sidelines if he ever wants to move forward.-- From publisher website.

Nightbooks
by  J. A White

Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

 Not if I Save You First
by Ally Carter

Six years ago Maddie lived in Washington D.C. with her father, a Secret Service agent assigned to the President's family, and her best friend was Logan, the President's son; but after her father was wounded in an attempted kidnapping the two of them moved to a remote cabin in Alaska and Logan never replied to her letters-- but now he has suddenly turned up on her doorstep, and, while she has no intention of forgiving him for his silence, she soon realizes that first she has to save him from the winter wilderness and the men who are pursuing him.

 Skyward (Skyward Series #1) by Brandon Sanderson, Paperback | Barnes &  Noble®
Skyward
by Brandon Sanderson

When a long-term attack against her world by the alien Krell escalates, Spensa's dream of becoming a pilot may come true, despite her deceased father being labeled a deserter.



 
The Benefits of Being an Octopus

by  Ann Braden

Seventh-grader Zoey Albro focuses on caring for three younger siblings and avoiding rich classmates at school until her fascination with octopuses gets her on the debate team and she begins to speak out.


 
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
by Stacy McAnulty

A lightning strike made Lucy, twelve, a math genius but, after years of homeschooling, her grandmother enrolls her in middle school and she learns that life is more than numbers.

                         
                

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.